Library of Congress American History - So awesome it will melt your brain!
U.S. History.org - Awesome online "encyclopedia " organized by time period
The National Musuem of American History -from the Smithsonian
Spanish Exploration and Native America - Florida History
Early Americas Digital Library
The Explorers - Virtual Library of New France
1492: An Ongoing Voyage - Library of Congress
The American Revolution Provides an in-depth look at the American Revolution including battles, people, timeline, documents, and more.
Boston Massacre Trials, 1770 Chronicles the trials of the eight British soldiers who were arrested after the Boston Massacre. They were represented ironically by John Adams.
A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation: U.S. Congressional Documents and Debates, 1774-1875 From the Library of Congress, this site presents documents and primary sources from the Continental Congress and the Constitutional Convention.
Colonial Williamsburg There's a lot here. You can roam the streets of Williamsburg, learn about the colonial and revolutionary lifestyle, and more.
Liberty!: Chronicle of the Revolution This is the companion site to the PBS series about the Revolutionary War.
Perspectives on the Boston Massacre The Massachusetts Historical Society presents this site that explores the various viewpoints of what happened on March 5, 1770.
Archiving Early America: Primary Source Material from 18th Century America Here you can view documents, images, newspaper articles, and more from Colonial America.
Colonial North American Project at Harvard University Harvard is digitalizing its collection of diaries, journals, notebooks, and other works from the 17th and 18th centuries.
Historic Jamestowne Explore the first English settlement including the latest news on the archaeological dig.
Maps of the French and Indian War From the Massachusetts Historical Society, this site not only includes neat maps from the war, but also a brief history of the war and a timeline.
Plimoth Plantation Here you can learn about the Pilgrims in the New World, the Mayflower, and the Wampanoag.
The Plymouth Colony Archive A very extensive collection of documents and research about the Plymouth Colony.
Salem Witch Museum The official site of the Salem Witch Museum in Salem, Massachusetts.
Salem Witch Trials: Documentary Archive and Transcription Project From the University of Virginia, this valuable resource contains primary sources, courtroom transcripts, maps, and background information about the Salem Witch Trials.
17th Century Colonial New England with Special Emphasis on the Essex County Witch-Hunt of 1692 Collects links on Colonial America in the seventeenth century including the Salem Witchcraft Trials.
13 Originals: Founding the American Colonies Briefly describes the founding of the thirteen colonies on American soil and provides additional resources
The War that Made America Chronicles the events of the French and Indian War and includes biographies, timeline, historical notes, and other resources.
Thomas Jefferson
Terrorism in Early America Written by Thomas Jewett, this online article discusses the very first war on terror against the Barbary Pirates.
Thomas Jefferson The Library of Congress presents a biography of Thomas Jefferson and his influence around the world.
Lewis and Clark
Discovering Lewis & Clark Probably one of America's greatest adventures, this site explores the travels of Lewis and Clark to the Pacific Ocean.
Lewis and Clark: The Journey of the Corps of Discovery The companion website to the Ken Burns documentary, this site offers a lot of information about the expedition including the members of the corps, the Native Americans they met along the way, excerpts from the journals by Lewis and Clark, and interactive maps.
War of 1812
War of 1812 A companion site to the PBS film, this site contains essays on the American, British, Canadian, and Native American perspective of the war and more.
War of 1812 History Central sponsors this site with summaries of key events of the war, multimedia presentations, and links to other 1812 sites.
The War of 1812 Website This Canadian website explores army life, battles, biographies, forts and historic sites, and more.
Alexis de Toqueville
In Search of Tocqueville's Democracy in America In 1831 Alexis de Tocqueville came to the United States. He later wrote a book called Democracy in America in which he discusses his travels and observations about the American people and its government. This site explores his life, his travels, and his book and its influence on American society.
​Texan Revolution, 1832-1836
Mexican-American War, 1846-1848
Mountain Men and the Fur Trade An interesting website about the mountain men in the Rockies, includes primary sources, images, and other information.
New Perspectives on The West The companion website to the Ken Burns' documentary, The West. Contains information on famous people, places, and events. Also includes additional resources.
The Oregon Trail Contains information about the trail, its landmarks, fascinating facts, and even full texts of diaries, memoirs, and period books.
The Transcontinental Railroad Profiles the history of the building of the first railroad across the United States.
The Transcontinental Railroad Profiles the history of the building of the first railroad across the United States.
The Virtual California Gold Country Describes the history of the California Gold Rush along what is now Highway 49 including mining camps, images, and links to related resources.
Slavery
Abolition: The African American Mosaic The Library of Congress presents an online exhibition about the abolition movement including photos, documents, artifacts, and more.
Africans in America From PBS, this is the companion site to the film of the same title that explores the history of slavery in America with images, documents, biographies and more.
The Underground Railroad National Geographic provides this excellent site about the Underground Railroad which includes an interactive game (you be the runaway slave), a timeline, profiles of key figures, other resources, and more.
Abraham Lincoln
Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum The official site of the library and museum honoring our 16th president. Here you can find out about the life of President Lincoln and the museum in Springfield, Illinois.
Abraham Lincoln's Assassination This site, developed by a retired history teacher, explores the assassination of Abraham Lincoln.
With Malice Towards None: The Abraham Lincoln Bicentennial Exhibition Describes the life of Abraham Lincoln and his thoughts and words, created by the Library of Congress.
Emancipation Proclamation Explains the background behind Lincoln's proclamation and provides images of the original document.
Civil War
The Civil War Examine the National Park Service’s collection from the Civil War including stories, biographies, links to related parks and monuments, and more.
Civil War @ Smithsonian Explore the Civil War artifacts from the Smithsonian's collection. Includes a timeline and links to other Internet resources.
Civil War.com An excellent resource about the Civil War including an overview, battle summaries and reports, maps, travel sites, and more.
Andrew Johnson
Impeachment of Andrew Johnson Presents an online exhibit of Harper Weekly's coverage of the impeachment of Andrew Johnson in 1868.
Treaty with Russia for the Purchase of Alaska Provides links to resources, including the text of the treaty, about the purchase of Alaska from Russia in 1867
Ulysses S. Grant
Ulysses S. Grant Homepage Provides a biography of Ulysses S. Grant who served as general of the Union forces in the Civil War and as President of the United States.
Ulysses S. Grant Information Center A comprehensive look at the life and times of Ulysses S. Grant.
Rutherford B. Hayes
Finding Precedent: Hayes vs. Tilden: The Electorial College Controversy of 1876-1877 Explains the controversy of the 1876 election where Tilden clearly won the popular vote but the question was who won the Electoral College vote?