Secondary Sources
A definition of secondary source
In contrast, a secondary source of information is one that was created later by someone who did not experience first-hand or participate in the events or conditions you’re researching. For the purposes of a historical research project, secondary sources are generally scholarly books and articles. Also included would be reference sources like encyclopedias.
Searching the Library Catalog
Use the Library Catalog to find a book, encyclopedia article, or movie about the person you are researching.
Library Databases - ABC CLIO and Student Resources in Context
You must use the database username and password to login! Look for it in your OneNote!
ABC CLIO American History - primary and secondary sources, images, video, maps, facts, and figures covering key concepts in American History.
Student Resources in Context - contains reference, magazine, and newspaper articles, as well as images, websites, AND PRIMARY SOURCES that will cover all the information necessary to complete your project.
Library Databases - Newspapers, Magazines, and Journals
You must use the database username and password to login! Look for it in your OneNote!
ProQuest contains newspaper and magazine articles. You can search within specific Chicago publications to find information about your topic. The video shows you how!
Wikipedia
Wikipedia is a good place to start your research because it will give you the WHO, WHAT, WHERE, and WHY of a topic, it has links to external websites, as well as keywords that are related to your famous person.
Check out all the External Links on the Wikipedia page about Helen Keller!
Make sure you verify any information you get from Wikipedia, since anyone can write a Wikipedia article!
Encyclopedia of Chicago
