Skip to main content

East Library Research Databases: Home

Databases available to Morton East students and families

Database Passwords

If you are logging into the databases from home (or anywhere outside of school), you will need to use Morton East's username and password.

  • The Library has Library access bookmarks available at the front desk
  • A message with Library usernames and passwords was sent via Skyward to all East students on August 20th, 2018. Log into Skyward Message Center to check you messages.
  • Email Mrs. Lorraine at slorraine@jsmorton.org if you need help accessing the databases from outside of school.

Literary Analysis and Theory

Literature Resource Sentence - a collection of full-text critical and literary analysis on a range of authors and their works.

Encyclopedias and General Content Databases

GVRL - online Library of electronic encyclopedia articles.

Student Resources in Context contains encyclopedia, newspaper, and magazine articles, as well as images, videos, primary sources, and facts and figures on a variety of subjects.

World Book Student - Online encyclopedia and web resources.

World Book Student - Online encyclopedia and web resources.

World Book Advanced - Online encyclopedia with web resources and images

World Book Timelines - online encyclopedia with interactive contect, images, web resources, and biographies.

World Book Kids - online encyclopedia with articles and web resources that are perfect for elementary and middle school students.

Newsela is a great source for current and relevant news articles. The Lexile level of every article can be changed so that readers can find a "just right" fit.

Reading Resources

Novelist Plus - Find book recommendations, reviews, and read-a-likes.

Teaching Books - a reader's advisory with content designed specifically for teachers and students including author interviews, discussion questions, and supplemental materials (teachers can log in with their personal account information).

Controversial Topics and Issues

Opposing Viewpoints - database containing newspaper, magazine, and encyclopedia articles as well as primary sources, images, maps, and web resources about current, controversial issues. 

 

SIRS Issues Researcher - offers pro/con views on current, controversial issues.

Exploring Issuesdigital resource that provides primary and secondary sources on current and controversial issues. 

ABC-CLIO Issues -database that investigates controversial issues to inform students on current events and help them develop critical thinking skills.

Spanish Language

Health and Wellness

 
 

Rosen Teen Health and Wellness - teen-focused database offering answers to health questions.

ProQuest Central

ProQuest Central Studentmultimedia resource that supports research in business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and other disciplines.

History and Government

SIRS Government Reporter - Contains current & historic documents of U.S. government
Summaries & text of U.S. Supreme Court cases 

ABC CLIO American Government - database containing biographical information about past and current government figures and primary and secondary sources including images, maps, audio and video recordings.

SIRS Decades - primary and secondary sources from the 20th Century about key events and movements in the U.S.

ABC CLIO American History - primary and secondary sources, images, video, maps, facts, and figures covering key concepts in American History.