Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Databases - Freshman Center Library : Home

Freshman Center students: database usernames & passwords for out-of-school access are available in the FC Library, OR log in to your Skyward account to view a Skyward message with this information that was sent to you in August.

Videos - Discovery Education

Discovery Education

High-quality academic videos and digital content.

Health

Teen Health & Wellness
Rosen

Teenage health and wellness information.

Research Tools - NoodleTools

Noodle Tools

Student research platform with MLA, APA and Chicago/Turabian bibliographies, notecards, outlining.

Books & Reading

undefined

NoveList Plus

Ebsco

Looking for a good book to read?! Comprehensive readers' advisory resource for fiction and nonfiction.



TeachingBooks.net

Comprehensive readers' advisory and instructional resources for fiction and nonfiction including author interviews, book video trailers, etc.  (staff can log in with personal account information)

Database Usernames & Passwords

Are you working IN school on your Morton-issued laptop?

  • You will connect automatically to the databases. You will not need a special username and password to log in to the databases.

Are you working OUTSIDE of the school building?

  • School-issued laptop: If you are logged into your school laptop, you should connect automatically to the databases. If not, enter the remote access username and password.
  • Non-Morton personal device: You will need to enter a remote username and password for each database.

Remote access usernames and passwords for database access are HERE

Encyclopedias and General Reference

World Book Online   all World Book databases
Leveled general encyclopedia plus web resources 
Advanced, Student, Discover, and Kids.

                            SIRS Discoverer   ProQuest 
General reference database plus pro/con social issues from relevant, credible sources.

World Book - Timelines
Historical timelines plus a timeline creator.

World Book - eBooks
Digital library includes highly illustrated, engaging titles.

History and Culture

                            World History: Ancient & Medieval Eras 
ABC-CLIO
Explores explores ancient civilizations, dynasties, and empires prehistory through to the beginning of the Renaissance.
World History: The Modern Era  ABC-CLIO
Explores the history of the world from 1500 to the present and the evolution of modern Europe since the Renaissance.

Daily Life Through History   ABC-CLIO
Explores ordinary life through time and across the globe: religion, housing, social customs, clothing, celebrations, etc.

The Latino American Experience   ABC-CLIO
Explores the heritage and culture of Mexicans, Puerto Ricans, Guatemalans, Cubans, Dominicans, Colombians, Ecuadorians, and other Latino peoples in the United States.

Spanish Language

Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos
World Book Online

Beginner’s Spanish-language general reference encyclopedia, reference tools, and web resources. 

Banco de Contenidos aulaPlaneta 
World Book Online

Spanish-language database designed for native Spanish speakers, and bilingual / ELL students.

Social Issues

Exploring Issues  

Reference Point Digital

Analysis of timely, complex, and controversial issues; includes statistics and infographics.

SIRS Discoverer

ProQuest

General reference database plus pro/con social issues from relevant, credible sources.

Geography

undefined

Maps101

Over 4500 maps, videos, animations, news, reference.

Biology

Core Concepts Biology 
Rosen

Media-rich online science resource including animals, cells, ecology, evolution, genetics, the human body, microbes, plants, and reproduction.

e-Book Resources



Gale Virtual
Reference Library

Gale

A variety of unlimited-access e-book research resources.