Office 365
Research 101! - Keep track of all the sources that you find in your OneNote or OneDrive. For every article, story, or piece of information, copy and paste the link into a document or OneNote page so that you don't lose it.
What's a database and why do I care!?
Think of a database like a search engine, go ahead and call it that if you want! But, remember, a database doesn't search through EVERYTHING on the web (that's Google's job). It only searches through reliable, credible sources that a person usually has to have a paid subscription to access. The Library pays for the databases, so you can have access to all the info they contain. There are NO:
- Ads or sponsored content
- Blogs
Library Database Resources - Controversial Topics
ABC Clio Issues - Use ABC CLIO ISSUES to explore current events topics (organized by subject) and read the articles provided to build your background knowledge.
Opposing Viewpoints - Use Opposing Viewpoints to explore current events topics (organized by subject) and read the articles provided to build your background knowledge.
SIRS Researcher - a collection of newspaper, reference, magazine articles, and websites that cover current and controversial topics.
Created By:
Sarah Lorraine, Librarian
Morton East High School
slorraine@jsmorton.org
Library Database Resources - General Information
Student Resources in Context contains encyclopedia, newspaper, and magazine articles, as well as images, videos, primary sources, and facts and figures on a variety of subjects.
ProQuest - Newspaper and Periodicals Database
Do yourself a favor and USE THE ADVANCED SEARCH - there are literally millions of articles in ProQuest, finding information can be a lot like looking for a needle in a haystack if you're not careful!
ProQuest Central Student - multimedia resource that supports research in business, health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and other disciplines.
