CLIMATE CHANGE: Is global climate change caused by humans?
- ACHIEVE: Earth's Lungs Are On FireAchieve 3000: 980L
- ACHIEVE: Youth Climate Movement Takes Center StageAchieve 3000: 980L
- ARTICLE: The difference between weather and climateNewsela: 1030L
- ARTICLE: World is not addressing climate changeNewsela: 1040L
- ARTICLE: New U.N. report says oceans are in troubleNewsela: 1050L
- WEBSITE: 9 ways we know humans triggered climate changeEnvironmental Defense Fund
- CHARTS: Our Planet in PerilScholastic
ASSIMILATION VS ACCULTURATION: Is it easier for minority groups to assimilate into American culture or can they successfully practice acculturation?
- DATABASE: Acculturation and SegmentationProQuest-SIRS
NATURE vs NUTURE: Is a person's personality given to them at birth or does they way they grow up influence them?
- DATABASE: BehaviorWorld Book Student
- DATABASE: HeredityWorld Book Student
- Genes, environment, and behaviorKhan Academy
- Temperament, heredity, and genesKhan Academy
Database Usernames & Passwords
Are you working IN school on your Morton-issued laptop?
- You should connect automatically to the databases. If not, click on the link below for the database username and password.
Are you working OUTSIDE of the school building?
- School-issued laptop: If you are logged into your school laptop, you should connect automatically to the databases. If not, enter the remote access username and password.
- Non-Morton personal device: You will need to enter a remote username and password for each database.
Remote access usernames and passwords for database access are
HERE
VOTING AGE: Should the voting age be lowered to 16?
- DATABASE: Voting AgeProQuest SIRS Discoverer
- DATABASE: Should Minors Get to Vote?ProQuest SIRS Discoverer
- DATABASE: Lower the Voting Age? Let's Raise It InsteadProQuest SIRS Issues Researcher
- ACHIEVE 3000: Should the Voting Age Be Lowered?Achieve 3000: 980L
- ACHIEVE 3000: Your Right To VoteAchieve 3000: 980L
- WEBSITE: Top Ten Reasons to Lower the Voting AgeNational Youth Rights Association
- WEBSITE: Voting Age: Facts and ResourcesNational Youth Rights Association
VOTING RIGHTS: Should felons be allowed to vote?
- ACHIEVE: Use Your VoiceAchieve 3000: 980L
- WEBSITE: Felon Voting RightsNational Conference of State Legislatures
- WEBSITE: Felony Disenfranchisement Laws (MAP)American Civil Liberties Union
- WEBSITE: State Felon Voting Laws (MAP)Britannica ProCon.org
STUDENT ATHLETES: Should high school and college athletes be paid?
- DATABASE: Student Athlete CompensationProQuest SIRS Discoverer
- DATABASE: Student Athletes are Workers; They Should Get Paid.ProQuest SIRS Issues Researcher
- DATABASE: New League to Pay College PlayersProQuest SIRS Issues Researcher
- ACHIEVE: Should These Players Be Paid?Achieve 3000: 980L
- ARTICLE: Payday for College Athletes?Scholastic: 980L
- ARTICLE: Payday for College Athletes?Scholastic: 1160L
- ARTICLE: College Payday?Scholastic
- WEBSITE: Why Aren’t College Athletes Paid?The College Post
SEXUAL ORIENTATION: Are people born gay or do they choose to live it as a lifestyle?
- DATABASE: What Are Sexual Orientation and Identity?Rosen Teen Health & Wellness
- WEBSITE: Is Sexual Orientation Determined at Birth?Britannica ProCon.org
- ARTICLE: Biological DeterminismThoughtCo
- ARTICLE: What Is Gender Dysphoria?ThoughtCo
- ARTICLE: What Genetics Is Teaching Us About SexualityNew York Times
- ARTICLE: Remembering Matthew ShepardNYT Upfront
EDUCATION: Should schools be separated based on gender?
- DATABASE: Single-Sex Schools/ClassroomsProQuest SIRS Discoverer
- DATABASE: Why You Should Choose a Single-Sex School, Particularly for GirlsProQuest SIRS Issues Researcher
- DATABASE: Why Single-Sex Schools Aren't BestProQuest SIRS Issues Researcher
- ACHIEVE: A Different Kind of ClassroomAchieve 3000: 980L
- ACHIEVE: It's a Girl ThingAchieve 3000: 980L
- WEBSITE: Single-sex education: the pros and consGreatSchools.org
COMMUNITY SERVICE: Should community service be required for graduation?
- ACHIEVE: Being a Good CitizenAchieve 3000: 980L
- MAP: High School Students Volunteering RatesEducation Week
- CHART: Student Volunteer Rates by StateUniversity of Maryland School of Public Policy
- WEBSITE: The irony of required volunteeringCollege of DuPage Courier
- WEBSITE: Why Youth Service?Youth Service America
- Nurture vs. Nature? As a Practical Matter, It’s NurturePsychology Today